2016 Goals & Plans

Happy New Year everyone!

“Another year, lots of new dreams”

New Years resolutions are always something I make and then forget about. However, I just looked back on an old post I wrote for 2014 and all the resolutions that I made, I actually accomplished without even trying. So I thought I would share some of my resolutions/ plans for 2016.

1)- To change my relationship with food. I think this is alway number one on a lot of peoples lists. However, I do not mean go on a diet or lose wight. Instead I want to develop a good relationship with food. For most of my life I always had a very sweet tooth and I eat way to much sugar. In the last year I have managed to cut down a good bit and I planed to keep that up in 2016. Perhaps give it up completely. Which I do every year for lent so I know I am capable if I just set my mind to it. Another thing I want to accomplish in relevance to my diet is to go vegetarian. I was vegetarian for the first half of last year. I work in a restaurant that doesn’t have any vegetarian options and when I was working 13-14 hour shifts during the weekends I found it difficult to do any meal prep. So I just slowly went back to eating meat. I may not be able to do it straight away but by the end of the year I hope to be fully back on board with vegetarianism.

2)-Β  Travel. Traveling really is the only thing that keeps me sane. I am constantly restless and feel like I always need to have some adventure planed. To visit places I have never been, and experience different cultures. This year if everything goes to plan I am traveling South East Asia for three months. I have applied for different masters back home and if I get accepted I will be moving back home to Ireland in April and traveling before I return to Uni. So I am so excited about that. Not to mention myself and a few friends booked a spontaneous trip to New Orleans for Mardi Gras in February. This has been on my bucket list for the longest time so I am very excited I get to cross it off soon. I also hope to visit both Scotland and Iceland before the year is out. Big travel plans ahead for the year!

3)- Become more organized. I probably will never be able to accomplish this, I have always been super lazy, and can never really shake it. I will always be the one to leave everything to the last minute and then get super stressed because of it. everything form my room to my life is a disorganized mess and I would love to shake it off in the new year. How? I haven’t a clue, but I am determent.

4)- Learn German. I have always wanted to be able to speak another language. Although I do speak Irish (given it is a little rusty) and can hold a basic conversation in French. I want to be able to speak and understand another language. I am obsessed with German history, I have countless books on the subject and not to mention I done my thesis on Cinematic depiction of Germans after World War Two. Another reason to learn German and not continue on with French is because Berlin is a city I want to live in for a year. Which I might just move to after finishing up my masters. So yeah knowing German would come in handy.

Some other minor goals/plans;

  • Give up coffee! Although I love coffee, it doesn’t agree with me anymore *sad face*
  • Become better a budgeting
  • Staying more positive
  • And lastly get up earlier

So they are my goals/plans for the up coming year. If any of you have similar resolutions leave them down in the comments. I love reading them.

Em x

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close