Top 5 Brunch Spots in Galway

After living in New York for two years brunch has become one of my favorite things to do on the weekend. Thankfully Galway has caught onto the trend and has a great selection of spots serving brunch. So when I moved back to Galway, I had the chance to visit some of the best brunch spots in town…More than once. Here are my top 5 brunch spots, and trust me I have tried them all!

  1. DELA

 

Dela is, in my opinion, the best spot for brunch here in Galway, hence why it is number one on the list!  They have all the stable brunch items, plus their Pancakes are amazing. Dela does brunch all week too, which is awesome. However, during the weekends as to be expected there can be a bit of a wait. I have gone a few times just when they open and I didn’t have to wait at all, but if you go a bit later there is normally a Que. I have never waited over 20 minutes though and the pancakes are worth it in my opinion.

They don’t take booking for Brunch on the weekends either, just in case you were wondering!

 

 

  1. Kai

It was hard to choose between Kai and Dela for the top spot. Many will have differing opinions on the best spot for Sunday brunch. Kai’s Menu changes every day and brunch is no exception, there is a different menu each Sunday. Which is fun because you never end up getting the same thing twice (which I am a culprit for in Dela). The few times I have gone they always have had a different style of Pancake, which I got once and they were huge. There was no need to eat for the rest of the day. I can vouch that everything I have ever tried or stole off my boyfriend’s plate has been amazing.

When it comes to Kai there will always be a wait. Even before they open there is a Que. I once went at 11:45 (they open at 12) and there was already quite a Que building up outside the door. So just go early if you intend on visiting. You might as well wait for them to open rather than come after 12 and wait for people to finish as they would have all just sat down!

  1. The Kitchen

Situated inside the Galway Museum, it is a really cute and quirky place to grab brunch. Their menu is a mix between brunch and lunch and changes slightly every now and again. Everything I have tried from there brunch section has been lovely and they have the best coffee of all the places.

There is never normally a wait any time I have gone. Which is nice if you aren’t in the mood (or extremely hungry) to wait.

4. Tribeton 

I tried tribeton a few weeks ago and was pleasantly surprised. I had heard from a few people that it wasn’t the best for food so I was hesitant to try it for brunch. However, one Sunday we said we’d give it a chance. It wasn’t promising when we were the only ones in the place. However, The food was amazing. I had the french toast while my boyfriend had the pancakes (Naturally I stole some of it!) Both dishes were very tasty, plus it came with a decent amount of food. I would highly recommend trying it for Brunch. Deffinetly underrated.

WhatsApp Image 2017-08-09 at 6.36.57 PM

5. Ard Bia

Ard Bia is a very cute restaurant quite literally on the bank of where the Corrib meets the Atlantic.  They have a great brunch menu, and it is a highly esteemed restaurant here in Galway. The only thing I would say is that the portions are smallish and even though I am full afterwards it wouldn’t be for long.

The wait for Ard bia can be awhile at times. As it is small and quite popular.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close